Amy Tan

The upcoming new novel “The Valley of Amazement” by Chinese American writer Amy Tan, author of the much-loved “The Joy Luck Club,” is seeing a steady uptick in promotional activity prior to its scheduled official release on November 11th, 2013. One such move, as reported in The Bookseller, is a 42-page digital-only extract from the [...]

The post Momentum builds for new Amy Tan title with digital-first excerpt from Fourth Estate appeared first on TeleRead: News and views on e-books, libraries, publishing and related topics.

Today started early with a quick lap around the expo hall, scouting out author events, checking in with favorite houses and, of course, scanning the carpeted floors of the myriad booths for uncorrected proofs. Among the swag: Neil Gaiman's Fortunately, The Milk (Harper Collins Childrens), Lyranda Martin Evans and Fiona Stevenson's Reasons Mommy Drinks (Three Rivers Press), Brian Lavery's The Conquest of the Ocean (DK), Nicoholson Baker's Traveling Sprinkler (Blue Rider Press), Amy Tan's The Valley of Amazement (HarperCollins) and a poster for Ian Doescher's William Shakespeare's Star Wars (Quirk).

Byliner and Atavist, two publishers that focus on e-singles (digital longform journalism), are experimenting with online subscriptions. While the programs are still in early stages, they could serve as models for other publishers who want to try the same thing.
Byliner Plus

The San Francisco-based Byliner publishes fiction and nonfiction e-singles it calls “Byliner Originals,” from authors like Margaret Atwood, Amy Tan and Jon Krakauer. It sells them through ebook retailers like Kindle, Nook and Apple, usually for $1.99 or $2.99.

(PRESS RELEASE) SAN FRANCISCO, Dec. 7, 2011—Amy Tan's new story Rules for Virgins - the first fiction she has published in six years -  marks the debut of Byliner Fiction, the digital publisher that, since its launch last spring, has published a series of bestselling nonfiction Byliner Originals from Jon Krakauer, Ann Patchett, Taylor Branch, William Vollmann, Mark Bittman, and other distinguished and breakthrough authors.

More Blogs